What Day Is It?

Today feels like it should be Saturday.  I know it’s Friday, but I can’t help but think it’s Saturday.  Why?  Because Handsome Hubby is home.  As much as I enjoy his presence, it sure throws a monkey wrench into the routine. 

First of all, I slept late – got up at 5:45 instead of 5:15.  (I can hear you all exclaiming, “What woman in her right mind gets up that early?!?!”)  It doesn’t seem like much, but it made a huge difference. 

Then, there was another person who needed to occupy the bathroom to get dressed and ready to greet the brand new day.  I know, I know.  Sharing is something we all learned early in life.  IMO, the words of Veruca Salt apply in this situation, “and I don’t want to share ’em!”

Of course, the dogs still needed to venture out into the rainy semi-darkness…and, of course, no one else was out of bed yet.  So, I did my duty so they could do theirs. 

Anyway, then the morning commenced with Darling Daughter (formerly referred to as Recent Graduate) and Handsome Hubby arising from their snuggy beds and rummaging through the kitchen for breakfast.  By this time, I had already eaten a granola bar and read much of the newspaper.  I was kind and saved the daily sudoku for the Hubby. 

Soon after, the day seemed to return to the usual routine, though it still felt odd because there was an extra person in the house on a weekday

Toward afternoon time began to drag…like a lazy, rainy Saturday.  But it’s not!  It’s Friday!  And it’s not over yet!  I think I’ll spend the rest of the day cross-stitching 🙂

Happy Saturday!  er…Friday

Leave a Reply

