Hunting II

A murder has occurred in Canada.  My dad shot a black bear earlier this week.  This is the 5th or 6th bear that he has “harvested” since he started making his annual pilgrimage to the killing grounds known as Long Lake Adventures.

Please don’t misunderstand – I love & respect my dad, really, I do.  He worked hard to provide for our family and deserves to enjoy his golden years.  I just don’t agree with some of his choices.

I’ve realized that I can no longer pretend to support his involvement in this so-called sport, nor can I remain silent about it.  My reaction would be quite different if he were hunting to provide food for his (or someone else’s) table, but that’s not the case. 

Trophy hunting, especially when animals are baited, is cruel and senseless murder.  In my opinion, there are only three good reasons an animal (wild or domestic) should be killed:  1) food; 2) severe illness; or 3) gross overpopulation. 

Baiting any animal should be illegal, period.

Leave a Reply

