Where Has Summer Gone?

It seems like just a few days since I wrote my last post, but it’s been…gulp…2 months!  I swear that I just barely blinked and summer is almost over!

I hope you’ve all been having a great summer!  Mine has been fairly dull, TBH.  We’ve hung around the house a lot.  I’ve cleaned and worked around the house.  Hubby has done a good bit of yard work when he’s not at the office or helping with youth activities at church or in a meeting at church.  Daughter has been working hard and enjoying her job.  I finally jumped in the pool with Hubby last weekend – yes, it was my first time this summer!  I think it was only his 2nd time swimming.  We’ve had such a wet summer, there hasn’t been much chance to swim…and the water is pretty chilly, too!  

I haven’t been doing much cross-stitching, thanks to tendonitis or something that’s making my arm ache (probably too much Candy Crush, lol).  I did manage to complete the 3rd part of my big project.  I’ve started the final section and am trying to stitch a bit on it each day; we’ll have to see how that works out 😉  

As some of you know, I’ve been trying to find a part-time job for about 2 years.  Still no success, though I was finally called for an interview.  I really wanted that job, but it just wasn’t meant to be, I guess.  Oh, well…I’ll just keep looking and applying 🙂  Being out of the workforce for 21 years isn’t helping my search, but I would not trade that time with the kids for anything.

I’ve been doing some canning this summer.  So far, I’ve made strawberry jam, peach jam, bread & butter pickles, zesty cucumber relish, and sweet cucumber relish.  I want to make more peach jam, as well as can some peaches.  Hubby requested corn relish and several kinds of salsa.  I will definitely make apple butter this fall, and I’m thinking about putting up a batch of Italian-seasoned tomato sauce to use when I make spaghetti.  Then, of course, there are a few things I want to try, just because they look interesting…more on that another time 🙂  

Well, it’s just a little after 7pm.  Daughter and I just got home from Friendly’s, where we had supper – a little bit of girls’ night since Hubby is helping with a project at his parents’ house.  I think I’m going to load the dryer, turn on the TV, and cross-stitch as long as I can.

Happy Stitching!

 

Leave a Reply

