Furry Friends

I just finished a little Joan Elliott flower design.  Check out my Instagram (thetimidkitty) for a photo!  This little stitch only took about 5 evenings to finish – simple & sweet 🙂

Now I’m trying to decide on my next stitchy project and I’m coming up empty.  So many patterns and so little interest in any of them!

So, rather than spend my time here lamenting my lack of stitching mojo, I’m going to talk about our family pets 🙂  Right now, there are 6 furry beasties sharing my abode (no I’m not counting my Hubby, LOL).

Shall we begin with the 3 dogs?  Sounds like a plan!  I guess you should know that they’re all adopted from the Humane Society of Washington County in Hagerstown, Maryland.

First, we have the lovely & spirited Bonny.  She’s a 9-year-old Boston Terrier/Chihuahua mix; we’ve had her since 2008.  She’s our resident escape artist, so we’re always watching her closely.  Our courtyard has a set of stairs with a fence & gate at the top.  She has actually jumped the fence!  Now we have our patented Impenetrable Barrier at the foot of the stairs, so she can’t get to the top…of course, this means we can’t use the stairs either, but that’s ok.  The Barrier consists of sawhorses topped by 2 old plastic lawn chairs; in front of this, we have several large planters.  Filling in the empty spots, we have several tall sticks.  It’s ugly, but does the trick, LOL.

Then, there’s Gizmo…Gizzy…The Giz Monster.  The sweetest, most irritating little Chihuahua mix on the planet.  He’s almost 4 years old and not a day goes by that I don’t think about re-homing him…though I doubt we will.  He gets along fine with the other dogs and especially loves to play with the Biggie Dog (you’ll learn about her next).  He’s an absolute snuggle-bug and wants nothing more than to be held and petted.  He has just one problem…he isn’t fully housetrained and doesn’t seem interested in getting that way.  So I’m either taking him outside or cleaning up pee.  Like I said, sweet but irritating.  We’re going to try doggie belly bands next.  It worked for an older dog we had (he passed away a few years ago), so maybe it’ll help Gizmo.

Last, but definitely not least, we have the awesomeness that is Mariska…the Biggie Dog.  She’s a 2-year-old Shepherd mix who actually belongs to my daughter.  This dog is the definition of SWEET!  She weighs about 50 pounds and loves to snuggle and play with the smallest dog toys we can find, lol.  She had no interest in the bigger toys.  She and Gizmo play well together; she’s so gentle with him – sweet!  We’ll be delivering Mariska Puppah Love to my daughter & her hubby some time in the next couple months.  I’ll miss this sweetie pie!

Now for the cats!  KittyPuff and Pickle were adopted from a no-kill shelter that has since closed its doors.  Olive was a stray, found by a friend, then adopted by us.

Pickle…what can I say about her?  She’s about 5 years old, tortoiseshell, a little bit shy but loves to play.  She’s a very lllooonnnnggg cat, but manages to squeeze herself into the tiniest boxes 🙂  Pickle is the most vocal of all our felines, often calling, “hhheeeellllooooowwwww” when she feels lonely.  Seriously!  It sounds like she’s saying HELLO!

KittyPuff is our little derpy cat.  She’s gray, 4 years old, and very timid.  I’m her person and, if given the chance, she will spend the night curled up on top of me.  One of her eyes is cloudy because of a lesion on it when she was a kitten, and she’s slightly pigeon-toed, but I think she’s absolutely perfect.

And then there’s Olive, a pudgy gray 3-year-old.  Formerly a stray, she tolerates the other cats and despises the dogs.  I never thought I would say she’s a good cat, but…well…she is a Very Good Cat.  When she first came to live with us, she hated me.  Seriously!  She would cross the room just to bite or scratch me!  Now, she loves everyone 🙂  She’s the only cat who will come out and greet visitors with a head bump (kinda like a fist bump, but with her head…just hold your fist out and say, “Boom, Kitty?” and there ya go!  The Hubby combs her every morning – she actually waits patiently while he’s in the shower – so her coat is lovely.  I could just go on and on about how much she’s improved since we took her in 2 years ago.  She’s just so awesome!  Even my mother-in-law likes her…and she’s not much into animals, LOL.

So, there you have it – a no-so-brief rundown of all our furry pals.  If anyone wants to take Gizmo off our hands, just let me know, LOL!

Leave a Reply

